siren-sound's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Greatful

So on a nothing on TV night, so I flipped on the PBS station here.
There were shirtless guys on acid and in the background I heard the grateful dead.
They showed pictures of the band on the corner of haight and asbury and had a crowd shot with Haight street piled high with people. Bill pointed out what is now Murios' trophy room and old buildings that are still there.
I got home sick so fast, and my heart hurt a little.
I felt like this old lady looking upon old pictures of San Francisco in its heyday and I wanted to bust out my tie die shirt that I don't own and smoke pot and listen to the grateful dead, who I really don't even like that much. Living in Haight Asbury for the amount of time that we did, the dead were ingrained in the landscape on a very subconscious level. And no matter how you felt about them, they seemed to be embodied there on a cellular level that you breathed in every day.
I miss San Francisco

9:15 p.m. - 2005-06-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Katherine hand