siren-sound's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Isthmus.

An isthmus is a small piece of land that connects to bigger pieces of land. On the island of Catalina, there is one that is a mile long that connects the two mountainous regions of the island. You can see the water if you hike in only a half mile into the land. The landscape looks like a dessert, so the water seems to be out of place amongst the lizards, cacti and sand dunes. The temperature also spikes fifteen degrees in that half mile, and it creeps up on you like a monster, especially coming from the coast, where the sea wind is tempted and delicate.
I was 7 or 8 years old when we hiked the isthmus. Our small sailboat was anchored in the bay, and my mom, dad and I made our voyage all the way across the island to hit the other small bay that was less inhabited. We were quiet, but we were together, which was a rare occasion. It felt nice, just the three of us. My mom sometimes called up the three musketeers, when it was just the three of us, which was not a whole lot, but it was always special. We only got maybe a quarter of a mile in, it wasn't much because we hadn't even hit the tire swing yet. The tire swing was just that, an old tire on old boat rope that hung down from a beautiful eucalyptus tree. I was looking forward to taking a few swings on that beauty to re-engage with my freedom. The swing was about half way, around where the heat got you. My mom, who kinda hated hiking, moving and being sweaty was showing signs of exaustion. Well, more just sweating and complaining. She put her hands on her hips and strided up the sand dunes. We were away from people, and the only ones out there. Then, all of a sudden, she just took off her top, and left her pink lace on her top half. I was shoked that you could just do that. Just take off your clothes, and and and! She didn't even say anything, and neither did my dad. She just wrapped the shirt around her waist and left her barely covered breasts open for all the lizards and cactus to see. I didn't say anything, but I thought that my mom was a lot less uptight then I thought, and my little world cracked open a touch more of what people could actually do in "public". I totally dug it.
When we reached the other side of the island, we found a small beach, and did a quick dip in the water, to wash away the fleeting heat we just went through. We sat in the sun to dry off, and made our way back to the other side of the island, with a brief stop in the middle to hit be free on the tire swing.

10:45 a.m. - 2019-05-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Katherine hand